The New Seven Wonders of the World

July 9, 2007 at 4:49 am | Posted in trivia | 27 Comments


Great Wall Of China



Taj Mahal in India



Machu Picchu in Peru



Statue of Christ Redeemer in Brazil



Rome Colosseum in Italy



The Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza in Mexico



Petra in Jordan

The new seven Wonders of the World is selected through a global votation, the largest of its kind. It was organised by the Zurich-based non-profit organisation, New7Wonders.

The campaign to name the new wonders was launched by Swiss adventurer Bernard Weber in 1999. Almost 200 nominations came in and the list was narrowed to 21 at the beginning of 2006.

For inclusion in the list, the new wonders had to be man-made, completed by 2000 and in an “acceptable” state of preservation.

Each continent had to be represented by at least one wonder, but there could not be more than one per country. The ancient wonders were mainly concentrated in the Mediterranean area.

“They should become symbols of unity in the modern world, just as the original seven wonders were symbols of the ancient world”, Weber said.

However, new wonders campaign has not been universally recognized. The United Nations’ cultural organization, UNESCO, has distanced itself from the initiative. It has its own World Heritage list.


Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.